The Freycinet Resort site has a long and varied history, dating back many thousands of years.
Shell middens found along the coast of the Freycinet Peninsula provide evidence that Tasmanian Aboriginal people have been present in the area for up to 35,000 years.
Since the colonial era, the land around Mount Paul has been home to many commercial enterprises. There were early attempts to develop a coal mine, but the company involved in the project was declared bankrupt before starting work; farmers have used the area for both sheep grazing and cattle farming; and the logging operations that took place from the 1950s onwards saw more than 90% of the trees on the site felled.
What you see at Freycinet Resort today are carefully cultivated new-growth forests which provide a welcome haven for the area’s wildlife. Since 2012, the land has been used for eco-tourism. Formerly known as Freycinet Retreat, the accommodation came under new management and was renamed Freycinet Resort in 2019.
Now protected as Land for Wildlife, our 1200-acre resort contains low-impact accommodation and a number of beautiful private walking tracks. We are excited and proud to become a part of the Freycinet Resort’s unique heritage, and we look forward to welcoming new and returning guests over the coming months / years.